To maintain a good standing with hockey officials, it`s advisable to steer clear of actions similar to the one recently demonstrated by Mason Marchment of the Dallas Stars.
During Game 3 of the second-round playoff clash between the Dallas Stars and the Winnipeg Jets, Marchment committed a notable misstep.
Visibly frustrated by what he perceived as two uncalled penalties against him, the forward from the Stars used his stick to make contact with the shin pads of referee Graham Skilliter.
This act by Marchment occurred immediately after he received a cross-check from Jets forward Mark Scheifele, an infraction that was not penalized.
Speaking on the Hockey Central panel during the second intermission, Kelly Hrudey emphasized the seriousness of the incident.
Under no circumstances can you make contact with a game official. You can be as frustrated as humanly possible, but you cannot touch them.
Marchment did not receive a penalty during the game for his interaction with the referee. However, according to Rule 40.1 in the NHL`s official rule book, any player who “deliberately applies physical force in any manner against an official… or deliberately applies physical force to an official solely for the purpose of getting free of such an official during or immediately following an altercation shall receive a game misconduct penalty.”
It appeared that Marchment offered an apology to Skilliter at the beginning of the third period.
Elliotte Friedman provided further context:
I checked, there`s no penalty right now as we`re sitting here, but at the end of the game, it`s up to the official. If they choose, they can write an abuse of officials report.
The prevailing sentiment suggests that while Marchment was fortunate to escape immediate punishment on the ice, he might face less favorable consequences following a review of the incident.